Press "Enter" to skip to content

Historical Society

The Mauricetown Historical Society was formally organized in June 1983 when a group of local citizens recognized the need to preserve the unique lifestyle and the colorful history of the villages of the areas of Commercial Township (NJ) that border the Maurice River as it winds its way to the Delaware Bay. In the three years prior to 1983 this group had worked as a local committee to have thirty-six architecturally significant homes and structures in the area added to the Cumberland County (NJ) Register of Historic Structures and Sites.

With these concepts and achievements in mind we were established as a nonprofit corporation and enacted by-laws to reflect its mission to preserve the history of this region.

On June 24, 1999, the Mauricetown Historical Society was appointed as the official Commercial Township Historian by action of the Commercial Township Committee and mayor. A plaque to that effect was presented to the society by township authorities at a regular business meeting.

Email Us:

Mauricetown Historical Society
Officers and Trustees

President – Julia Gandy
Vice President – Marge Martishek
Treasurer – Libby Truitt
Secretary – Cathy Smith


Fred Hunt
Darlene Kates
Judy Moore
John Nardone
Carol Perrelli
Eileen Wiggins

Mauricetown 25 best towns in NJ